Research awards

Encouraging excellence in housing and urban research

Our research awards support continuous professional development opportunities that sustain and grow Australia’s research capabilities in housing and urban research. They include The Federal Minister's Award for Early Career Housing Researcher and The Professor Mike Berry Award for Excellence in Housing Research.

The Federal Minister's Award for Early Career Housing Researcher recognises excellence in those beginning careers in housing and urban research.

The award is sponsored by AHURI and awarded at the annual Australasian Housing Researchers Conference.

The 2017 recipient is Dr Lyrian Daniel, from the University of Adelaide, for her research ‘Material Deprivation: Housing affordability risk made real’.

Past recipients include:

Known as The Berry, the Professor Mike Berry Award for Excellence in Housing Research is an annual award for the best piece of new housing and urban research.

Presented yearly at the Australasian Housing Researchers Conference, winners receive an engraved award and a $1,000 cash prize.

The winner of the 2017 Award is Associate Professor Daphne Habibis, from the University of Tasmania where she is Director of the Housing and Community Research Unit. Daphne is a sociologist who has published widely on housing and urban policy issues especially in relation to tenancy sustainment and Aboriginal housing.


Created in 2015 by Housing Choices Australia and AHURI, the Professor Mike Berry Award for Excellence in Housing Research honours the outstanding contribution made by Professor Mike Berry to the affordable housing sector in Australia, and to Housing Choices Australia and AHURI in particular.

Throughout his career Professor Mike Berry has made an exceptional contribution to the field of housing research as a former Executive Director of AHURI, a researcher of international repute and as Director of the AHURI Research Centre—RMIT University. He has published a vast body of research focussing on urban development processes, urban social theory, economics and public policy, and housing markets. He was a long-term member of the Housing Choices Australia Board, including as Chair in 2013, and was Executive Director of AHURI from 1993 to 1999. He is currently Emeritus Professor in the School of Global, Urban and Social Studies at RMIT University.

The award encourages future generations of researchers to strive for the same levels of excellence Professor Berry has achieved throughout his illustrious career, and it complements a range of other research capacity building activities AHURI undertakes to develop the skills and resources of the housing research community in Australia.

Past recipients include:

2016 – Prof Kath Hulse, Swinburne University

2015 – Dr Rebecca Bentley, The University of Melbourne

2015 – Associate Professor Emma Baker, The University of Adelaide