My way home: competition and choice in human services–Hon Brad Hazzard MP

Opening address

Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Melbourne

13 Apr 2016

Hon Brad Hazzard MP, NSW Minister for Family and Community Services and Minister for Social Housing

Brad Hazzard is the Minister for Family and Community Services and the Minister for Social Housing in the NSW Liberal & Nationals Government. As Minister, Brad has been tasked to drive the NSW Government’s policies to safeguard the most vulnerable members of our community and address the cycle of disadvantage.

His diverse portfolio directly supports around 800,000 people every year and reaches a further million through local community-based programs. It also owns and manages some 130,000 social housing assets worth approximately $35 billion.

Brad started his professional life as a graduate science teacher at North Sydney Boys High School. He later studied law at the University of NSW and was admitted as a solicitor in 1977. In 1984 he was awarded a Master of Laws from the University of Sydney. Brad practised as a solicitor and arbitrator. He has lived on the Northern Beaches for most of his life.

He entered Parliament in 1991 as the State Member for Wakehurst on Sydney’s Northern Beaches, taking it from a marginal seat to one of the ten safest seats in NSW for the Liberal Party.

In the Greiner and Fahey Liberal & National Governments he was Chairman of the high profile StaySafe committee, leading campaigns for improved road safety.

From 1995 until 2007, while the Liberal & Nationals were in opposition, he served continuously on the front bench in more than a dozen different portfolios, including as Shadow Minister for Community Services and Disability Services.

Before his appointment as Minister for Family and Community Services and Minister for Social Housing in April 2015, he was the Attorney General and Minister for Justice. Prior to that he served as Minister for Planning and Infrastructure, Minister Assisting the Premier on Infrastructure NSW and Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly.